Memorial Day Closure

HPL and HPL Express are closed Monday, May 27 in observance of Memorial Day. 

Get a Card

How to Get a Card

  • Any Wisconsin resident with a picture ID and proof of current address can apply for a FREE Hedberg Public Library Card. 
  • Stop into the library’s Checkout Desk to fill out a paper application. Or fill out an online application to obtain a temporary card.* 
  • Children under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a photo ID to sign for the permanent card.

*Your temporary card will allow you to place holds on library materials. This card will expire in 30 days. To obtain your permanent library card, please visit your local library within Kenosha, Racine, Rock, or Walworth county with a photo ID that has a current address, or, if such an ID is unavailable, present a photo ID and an accompanying piece of documentation with a current address listed.

Frequently Asked Questions

A free library card is issued to most Wisconsin residents showing acceptable name and address identification, including: 

  • Driver’s License
  • Wisconsin State ID
  • Bank book or statement
  • Current bill on company letterhead received via mail with current postmark
  • Copy of renter’s lease
  • Motor vehicle registration 
  • Property tax receipt
  • Wisconsin hunting or fishing license 

Cards are issued to children at the discretion of their parent or guardian. A parent or guardian must be present with the child to sign library card applications for anyone under the age of 18.

If a parent or legal guardian is not present, a child may get a Youth Library Card which allows for a maximum check-out of 3 children’s or teen books and internet computer access. The child must be able to provide their name and birthdate to be granted the card. Youth Cards do not incur overdue fines.

Report lost or stolen cards immediately. A $1 fee is charged to replace a lost or damaged card. 

If you move or change your name, let us know. There is no fee for a name or address update.

Hedberg Public Library offers Teacher Loan Cards as a service to teachers living and/or working in Rock County preschools, licensed childcare centers, homeschool families, and public and private schools serving students in grades K-12. Homeschool teachers and childcare providers are also eligible. Teachers may use these cards when classroom projects call for materials beyond the school’s media center scope.

To apply for a Teacher Loan Card, you’ll need:

  • A personal library card in good standing (less than $10 fines) from Hedberg Public Library or any other Rock County Public Library.*
  • An active email address that is monitored for library alerts
  • Proof of employment at an educational facility (I.D. with name and school, letter from
    principal/director, etc.), a childcare license, or a statement that you homeschool.

*Out-of-state residents who work at a Rock County school may be issued a Teacher Loan Card without cost if they first establish a Fee Card at Hedberg Public Library. A Fee Card can be obtained for $25 per quarter or $65 per year.

What are the Loan Periods?

  • Standard loan period - 6 weeks
  • Feature Film DVDs, video games - 1 week
  • TV on DVD - 2 weeks
  • Interlibrary loan (ILL) lending period varies; determined by lending library
  • Book Club in a Bag - 6 weeks

Loan periods may be extended upon request to fit your lesson plan, with the exception of Feature Film DVDs and TV on DVD. 

Teacher Card Loan Periods, Limits, Fines and Fees
Overdue fines apply to Teacher Card loans at the standard rates [link]. The individual teacher, not the school, is responsible for materials checked out to the Teacher Card, including the cost for lost or damaged items. Personal items may not be checked out on a Teacher Card. There is no limit to the number of items that can be checked out at one time, except for one video game.