homeabout HPLusing the librarycalendar of eventsfor readersresearch toolskidstuffteen centralhelp donate volunteer


Job Seekers Open Lab - Click for Dates

 

 


Computer Classes
The library offers free classes on a variety of computer topics. Most of these hands-on classes are 90 minutes long. The exception is E-Mail Setup, which lasts 45 minutes. Classes are held in the Woodruff Training Room. Register at the Service Desk or by calling 758-6600. Classes fill quickly, so register as soon as possible. Classes are cancelled 24 hours ahead if not enough people are registered.

Don't have time for a class this month? Check out our list of online computer tutorials!

And if HPL's classes don't fit into your schedule, visit Arrowhead Library System's "Take Your Pick" computer class list, which includes the free classes offered at all seven Rock County public libraries.

Class Offerings @ Hedberg
* Knowledge of computers and keyboarding skills are required.

¡Clases de computación en español!

Buying and Selling on eBay
Learn how to find, evaluate and bid on listings to purchase items.  Also learn to write a description, insert photos, and post an item to sell on eBay. This is a two-hour class.
No class at this time.

E-Mail Basics*
Learn to check, read, compose, delete, spell-check and send electronic mail using a free service.This is a two-hour class.
Tuesday, September 23 at 1:30 p.m. (2hrs)
Thursday, November 13 at 9:30 a.m. (2 hrs)

Excel Spreadsheet Basics 2010 *
Learn the basic terminology and skills to use spreadsheets as a tool for organizing information with the latest version Microsoft Excel. Knowledge of Introduction to Computers is required.
Thursday, September 4 at 10:30 a.m.

Excel Spreadsheet II 2010 *
Continue learning features of Excel including: performing calculations, auto calculate, formatting and charting.
Thursday, October 16 at 2 p.m.
Monday, November 10 at 11:30 a.m.
Wednesday, December 17 at 3:30 p.m.

Introduction to Computers
Learn the basic operation of a Windows 7 PC, including keyboard and mouse use and desktop features.
Wednesday, September 3 at 9:30 a.m.
Monday, October 6 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, November 5 at 9:30 a.m.
Tuesday, December 2 at 1 p.m.

Keyboarding
Learn the basics, practice keyboarding and improve your speed
No class at this time.

Managing Files and Documents ** NEW CLASS CONTENT**
Learn to move files between devices, save documents to the cloud and find documents you’ve already saved. Includes information for both desktop and mobile devices.
Wednesday, October 22 at 9:30 a.m.
Tuesday, November 18 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, December 3 at 9:30 a.m.

PowerPoint Basics*
Use a presentation-graphics program, Microsoft’s PowerPoint, to create a basic slide presentation.
No class at this time.

Publisher
Learn to design and print cards, newsletters, calendars and more.
No classes at this time.

Searching the Internet: Beyond Google ** NEW CLASS CONTENT**
Explore a variety of ways to search for topics using search engines, search directories and metasearch engines.
Tuesday, September 9 at 1 p.m.
Monday, October 20 at 2 p.m.
Wednesday, November 19 at 9:30 a.m.
Tuesday, December 9 at 10 a.m.

Word Processing Basics 2010
Learn to edit a document with cutting, copying, pasting, inserting, deleting, bolding, italicizing, and underlining with the latest version of Microsoft Word. A general understanding of computer operation is required.
Monday, September 15 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, October 14 at 3:30 p.m.
Monday, November 10 at 9:30 a.m.
Wednesday, December 17 at 1:30 p.m.

Word Processing II 2010 *
Learn about line spacing, special symbols, WordArt, tabs and more with the latest version of Microsoft Word. Word Processing Basics is a prerequisite.
Monday, September 8 at 10 a.m.
Monday, October 27 at 10:30 a.m.

 



 

 
WiFi Zone
© Hedberg Public Library. All rights reserved.
316 South Main Street Janesville, WI 53545 | (608) 758-6600